Garcia takes a rain soaked first win for Gasgas

Garcia adds to the Motorex tally of Grand Prix Winners

Gaviota GASGAS Aspar Team Rider Sergio Garcia overcame ever-changing conditions to rocket through to a dominant win starting from 8th place on the grid. The 18 year old Spanish rider from Castellón treated onlookers to a true champion’s performance during the 22 lap race at Le Mans.
  • 18 year old Sergio Garcia wins the French GP with a near lights-to-flag race performance
  • Gaviota GASGAS Aspar Team are Moto3 Grand Prix winners in only their fifth race in ‘red’
  • Garcia secures 25 points and surges to second place in the championship standings
Consistently setting the on-track pace, Garcia pulled a five second gap on his rivals by lap seven, which increased to 7.1 seconds by the final flag. Garcia’s sole race rival Filip Salac - who eventually finished second - was unable to keep pace with the Gaviota GASGAS Aspar Team rider on his GASGAS RC 250 GP bike, meaning the Czech rider also dropped away by 2.3 seconds by the end of the race.
#11 - Sergio Garcia: “I’m so happy to get the win. The race for me was actually very difficult because the track conditions were changing lap by lap. There was a drying line quite quickly, but parts of the track still remained more wet than others. I had to manage the tires as best as I could but still push hard. Overall, I am just very happy with my ride - pushed hard to the limit every lap. This victory is for all my family and my team, we have worked very hard to get here. I’m so happy!”
Jorge Martinez (GASGAS Aspar Team Manager): “It’s a very special day: the first victory with GASGAS and for us being a Spanish team with a Spanish brand and a Spanish rider we’re even happier! We made a big step today and now we’re up to 2nd in the championship even if there is a long season ahead. This was the team’s 140th win so it’s even more satisfying.”
Results - 2021 Moto3 World Championship, Round 5:
1. Sergio Garcia (GASGAS) 22 laps; 2. Filip Salac (Honda) +2.349, 3. Riccardo Rossi (KTM) +5.589
Championship Standings - After Round 5:
1. Pedro Acosta (KTM) 103pts; 2. Sergio Garcia (GASGAS) 49; 3. Andrea Migno (Honda) 47